Imagining an Integrated Humanities Program


HowdoUteach

This is one of those “thinking out loud” posts of mine, where I try to think clearly about some practical issue from my own teaching context, so let me set the stage. I am currently teaching English and Philosophy in a Catholic High School. As the Director of Academics, I am trying to help the school realize its full academic potential in a manner that is in keeping with its mission and that is centered around Christ as our Logos. I am a long time fan of the concept that a school should have a singular Humanities Department made up of those who teach from the Trivium section of the Seven Liberal Arts. That means in our day of Departments: the English, History, and Theology departments.

At the heart of my predilection for this set up is the notion that education is the cultivation of wisdom and virtue and that…

Ver o post original 1.348 mais palavras

Deixe um comentário